Important Updates:

This site is best viewed using the latest versions of Firefox, Chrome, Safari, and  Internet Explorer 9 or 10. For Windows XP users, please use Firefox or Chrome. For Windows 7 Users, to update to the latest version of Internet Explorer, please click here.

Parks & Recreation Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


The community members of this commission must live within the city and shall serve a term of four (4) years. A vacancy occurring before expiration of a term shall be filled by appointment for the remainder of the term by the city council. The term of each community member commissioner shall expire on December 31st of the year that occurs no more than four (4) years after the date of the appointment.

The total membership of the commission shall be made up of five adults in the following manner:

  • Three adult resident community members appointed by the city council to serve without compensation;
  • The City Council shall appoint a member of the city council to serve as a commissioner;
  • The Desert Recreation District general manager or a designated representative shall serve as a commissioner.
  • Alternate parks and recreation commissioner.
    • The alternate parks and recreation commissioner shall attend parks and recreation commission meetings as a nonvoting, nonparticipating member. In the event of an absence of a regular parks and recreation commissioner, the alternate parks and recreation commissioner shall sit with the commission as a voting, participating member


Parks and Recreation Commission Application


Appointee Representing Original Appointment Term Expires
Emmanuel Martinez
Council Member December 13, 2017
December 31, 2020 
Karina Rodriguez Desert Recreation District June 21, 2016 December 31, 2020
Arturo Aviles Community Member June 14, 2017  December 31, 2020 
Denise Delgado
Community Member December 13, 2017 December 31, 2021
Community Member
December 31, 2021
(VACANT) Alternate
December 31, 2019


The Parks and Recreation Commission meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the upstairs conference room at the Coachella Corporate Yard located at 53-462 Enterprise Way, Coachella.